Identical Opposites


Yes, oxymorons are officially KPM approved! Only if they are super clever. Kid Pistol himself thought it was a bad idea to approve them… he’s in a far away place now and I run this sh*t. Anyway, that’s not why we’re here today. Here we have a slew of great original songs and they’re remakes. Is the original amazing? Or, is the remake better? The choice is yours. Leave your votes in the comment section and winners will be announced soon.

Take my metaphorical hand as I guide you, walk with you, and help you make a better informed decision on what song truly is the best!

A Simple Man by Lynyrd skynyrd

Ahh, Lynyrd Skynyrd. Their legacy speaks for itself, especially with this particular song. It’s almost impossible not to love. This song may sound old, probably because it was first made in 1973. But, today it still has the same impact as  it did 40 years ago. It’s textbook to what a hit single should be and set a high standard in my heart for what well-composed rock music should sound like.

A Simple Man by Deftones

With an almost endless variety of genres within their own music, Deftones have grown to become a huge colt success. This song has a more modern rock style of composition but, as always, Chino Mareno has a most unorthodox way of singing. You will grow to love it or live to hate it. I believe they did a tremendous job of truly making this song they’re own.

Heartless by Kanye West

There is one of 2 reasons that you were hesitant to click the play button; the first is that you probably hate Kanye for a variety of very appropriate reasons. Or, you know already that this song is one of the biggest songs he has ever done and you’ve heard it too much already. No matter the reason, you will inevitably play it because it is a great song for an album. But, will it compare to its remake. Bet you won’t guess who took a shot at redoing this song…

Heartless by The Fray

This version is truly amazing. Phenomenal christian artists that truly love music. They took a song from an album so obviously titled “808’s & Heartbreaks”,  and turned bass and electronic nonesense into a physically composed ballad. This really shows the raw singing power and love of the craft that Isaac Slade has perfected.

Wonderwall by Oasis

Thank goodness for YouTube otherwise no one would know the name of the band that has the biggest song of 2012. Indie music is really catching up to the mainstream. Which brings the question; do we still call indie music.. indie..music? Yes! we do, because although it originated by priding itself in being independent, it has become a genre of its own. Wonderwall is a prime example of indie music tearing its way through the bullsh*t to reach the top of the mainstream charts.

Wonderwall by Ryan Adams

Holy cow, Ryan! You really bring tears to our eyes with your brakes-on-the tempo, acoustic version of this song. I love acoustic music with a person that can really bring soul to the music. I promise this version is better, so don’t go thinking that you can vote for the original poppy version, THIS IS A DICTATORSHIP, I PAY FOR THE BANDWIDTH… Excuse me, I get passionate sometimes. Anyway, tell us your opinion.. if you dare…

Cable Car by The fray

Or, “Over My Head”. I never knew, I never Knew that a song could be so catchy! Uplifting sound for a great song, once again, by the fray. As always, no matter how many overly-testosterone dudes will call you a “homo (not that there’s anything wrong with that) sexual” for liking the Fray, they never cease to deliver a great song for the whole family.

Cable Car by A Day to Remember

A very unexpected punk goes pop remix of the Fray’s original. It has everything I love in rock – solos, screamos and a poppy guitar riff for the chorus. I judged it by its cover before I heard it – don’t! It’s quite a good listen but, definitely not better than the original.

I Can’t Help Falling in Love with You by Elvis Presley

I am just too young and influenced by my generations music to care about music so old. Plus, Elvis is corny! However, this song is a classic and a beyond beautiful love story. I hope you enjoy it as I have.

I Can’t Help Falling in Love With You by Ingrid Michaelson

Wow! With such a “pretty name” I have to say I didn’t expect this. Much slower and even though it’s a recorded song that never changes, it still manages to be hard to sing along with. When I first heard this song I listened and sang like a fool for at least an hour. Most of us don’t have that much time to waste, so just enjoy it at least once.

Say something about this:

